2019-2020 Job Candidates

 

CANDIDATE EMAIL DISSERTATION TITLE DISSERTATION COMMITTEE

Alma Garza

angarza@uci.edu

Treading Borders: How College and Community Cultures Shape the Upwardly Mobile Experiences of Mexican-Origin Students Cynthia Feliciano (Co-Chair), Ruben Rumbaut (Co-Chair), Francesca Polleta, Rocio Rosales, and Amy Binder

Apoorva Ghosh

apoorva.ghosh@uci.edu 

After Coming Out: Parental Acceptance of Gay Men in the U.S. and India

Francesca Polletta (Chair), David J. Frank, and Charles Ragin

Ben Gibson

cbgibson@uci.edu 

Improving Dynamic Models for Social Networks

Carter T. Butts (Chair), Katherine Faust, Matt Huffman, Andrew Noymer, Cynthia Lakon

Ben Leffel

bleffel@uci.edu 

Sociology of Global Urban Climate Change Mitigation David A. Smith (Chair), David J. Frank, Wang Feng, Michael J. Prather, and Scott A. Bollens

Oshin Khachikian

oshin@uci.edu

Striving Together? Culture, Institutions and Peer Social Capital in Second-Generation Americans' Path to College

Nina Bandelj (Chair), Richard Arum, Min Zhou, and Cynthia Feliciano

Chris Gibson

cwgibson@uci.edu 

Local Agencies in Global Markets: Water, Economy, and the Environment

Nina Bandelj (Chair), Dave Smith, Evan Schofer, and Valerie Olsen

Francis Lee

francil@uci.edu 

Novel Applications of Statistical Network Models for HIV Research

Carter T. Butts (Chair), Katherine Faust, Steven Goodreau, and David Schaefer

Jess Lee

 jessl19@uci.edu

Shifting Boundaries of Asian America: Ethnic Heterogeneity and Intermarriage

Catherine Bolzendahl (Chair), Judith Treas, and Belinda Robnett

Megan Brooker

 brookerm@uci.edu

Renegotiating Movement-Party Alignments: How Social Movements Shape and Respond to Presidential Elections

David S. Meyer (Chair), Edwin Amenta, David John Frank, Lisa Leitz, and Michael Tesler

Jason Mueller

muellej1@uci.edu

Beyond 'Miracle States' and 'Blood Diamonds': State Strategy, Dispossession, and Diamond Extraction in Botswana and Zimbabwe David A. Smith (Chair), Charles Ragin, Shimelis Gulema
Zaibu Tufail

 ztufail@uci.edu

Who is in Debt? The Role of Social Class, the Welfare State and a Culture of Finance Nina Bandelj (Chair), Katie Bolzendahl, Matt Huffman, Katie Porter

 

© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766